Tags

, ,

I started Keyhole Factory last night. I live-tweeted reading the first “chapter,” which was only two pages. It was a quick experiment that turned me off almost instantly. Here’s why I shouldn’t live-tweet books:

  1. Part of what I love about reading is getting lost in the work, and I can’t loose myself in the story if I keep turning to my laptop and typing tweets.
  2. How arrogant is it to share thoughts on a work that I haven’t finished yet? It’s not that I don’t have thoughts, but imagining someone reading my work and throwing out opinions without taking it all in as a piece makes me nervous, so I shouldn’t do it to another author.
  3. I should at least get into a novel before blurting out judgments. Assuming it’s not rotten from the start, of course. I tend to be a very forgiving reader, but if something is still off-putting after page 4 or so, let the critique commence; this one wasn’t off-putting.
  4. Reading = ruminating. How can I ruminate if I’m counting characters?
  5. You don’t want to know what I think about every sentence, and yet I’m tempted to tweet my thoughts on every sentence.

And so, this short-lived experiment is ended. I’ll continue reading the book, because I enjoyed the opening even though I stacked the TweetDeck against it. But I’ll just update my progress on Goodreads and share a review once I’m done.

Egads, that was awful. Next time I come up with a ridiculous idea, I should just write a story about it, instead of doing it.

